PDA

View Full Version : Trying to be supportive

robby
24th October 2012, 10:03
Hi there,

This is my first time on the forum and I am not sure whether this post is in the correct section.

My girlfriend of 3 years' father has been recently diagnosed with MND. He was diagnosed in February/March I think, but we found out sometime in August, and symptoms have been visible for 12-18 months. As a result of this, I have moved in with my girlfriend to offer support as I did not want her being alone.

As you would expect, she is extremely upset, and shocked by this situation. We live a fair distance from her family, but we try and visit as regularly as possible (2-3 weekends per month). After each visit, when we come home, she is incredibly upset for periods of 2-4 days, and finds it very difficult to sleep, getting worked up and upset throughout the night. I think it is important to visit regularly to try so the deterioration is not as shocking when she sees him, and also to try and spend as much time with him while she can. At the same time, as mentioned, every time we visit them it results in such sadness, and she cannot go to work due to the sadness.

I find it very difficult being in this position as there is nothing I can do but be there for her. I feel like there is nothing I can say that makes any difference and it is impossible to find a solution to her sadness. I guess what I am hoping for is some advise from the community, about how she might be feeling, how you coped through these early stages and if there is anything I can do to try and help her come to terms with this. Moving in with her took her mind off the situation for the first month, and it seemed to help, but now that is done the sadness has resurfaced. I am not sure if trying to keep taking her mind off it is the best solution, or whether she needs to come to terms with it and there is nothing I can do to halp that other than be there.

Any advise is greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

pete