PDA

View Full Version : excessive saliva control

caroline
8th April 2011, 08:25
Hi, this is my first time posting on this forum! My Mum was diagnosed with PBP last July and is now at the stage where she has no speech and swallowing is becoming a big problem, we are currently trying to encourage her to agree to a PEG as she is loosing weight but she is refusing (but that is a different matter). The other big problem we are having is the volume of syliva she is producing and obvioulsy not being able to swallow it, we have printed the information sheet from the MNDA and are trying to work through the options, so far we have tried the natural i.e. fruit juices and the travel sickness patches, neither have worked. We are about to try Kwells (also for travel sickness) and see how that works, but does anyone have any methods that they tried that worked successfully? The GP doesn't seem to be much help here and is tending to write prescriptions for the products that we are asking for rather than suggesting new ones. Any help or suggestions would be gratefully received.

Thanks
Caroline

Carly
8th April 2011, 12:35
Buscopan....My Dad was diagnosed last July but sadly passed away on the 18th March.
In the hospice where he spent his last day they used Buscopan for excessive saliva.
Check up on this please before giving it to your mum, wouldn't want anything to go wrong!
Hope that helps x x x

caroline
8th April 2011, 14:34
Thank you Carly and so sorry to hear about your Dad. We will check it with the GP and hopefully it may do the trick.

Graham
16th April 2011, 19:55
Hi Caroline,

Buscopan is a muscle relaxant and may adversely affect other weak muscles.

Best wishes

Graham

Barbara
18th April 2011, 18:33