PDA

View Full Version : newbie here- very confused.

kelly
24th May 2011, 16:16
Hi all my partner has just been 90% diagnosed with MND at the very young age of 37 .... we are finding the whole thing a massive shock and cant quite believe it as at present he is still very normal .His only symptoms are fasticulations in his right arm, shoulders slightly and the top of the left arm and his right hand is weakish . He is still VERY strong . he has no other mnd symptoms whatso ever. Do you think from experience it is worthus getting a second opinion?im only 27 and we are both worried about things to come x

hilary walklett
24th May 2011, 16:35
Hi, Kelly, welcome to the forum.

I'm not surpirsed that you are worried and I really hope that it turns out not to be MND. But if it is, we will give you all the help and support that we can.
Fingers crossed for you!!

Hilary

kelly
24th May 2011, 16:38
hi hilary thankyou so much. i think the reason we are questioning it is because he is still so active- going to the gym everyday , mowing lawns and in general looks a picture of health apart from these fasticulations in his arm. the docs have sent off some more bloods today , its so worrying! x

Chris
24th May 2011, 17:17
Hi Kelly very sorry to hear of your worries but i will say thats exactly how it was for me when i was diagnosed in July 2010 at 35, it was so hard to believe these lillte ripples in my right arm and a slight right hand weakness would lead to this, but unfortunatley they were right.
By all means get a second opinion if your unsure, it all just sounds very familiar to me.

Sorry if i scare you and i do really hope its not MND.

kelly
24th May 2011, 21:18
hi chris thanks for the reply its so bizarre ive juts had a look at your site and cant believe how similar things are my partner has a 6 yr old daughter . how is your partner coping with things?

x

soniamm
25th May 2011, 08:37
Hi Kelly