PDA

View Full Version : Nose dripping or excess saliva

Michaeldw
24th November 2014, 17:11
I suffer a runny nose, usually at meal times but not excessive saliva.

Is this common .

Jock
24th November 2014, 17:16
In the course of my readings I have not found a runny nose to be associated as such with MND. Possibly your immune system is affected and you get colds easily. All that said I'm not an expert of any sort. :)

KarenaB
24th November 2014, 19:04

Is this common .

I have Bulbar MND and have had a problem with runny nose for some time. It seemed to start before I started noticing first syptoms which for me were with my speech. I wish I'd bought shares in Kleenex to be honest it was that much of a problem. I recently put in an air purifier and ioniser and things have improved a lot for me.

When you say meal times are a problem could the food be hot and the steam be loosening the mucus causing your nose to run?

Karen

Springtime
24th November 2014, 19:55

Is this common .

Hello Michael,

I don't think its very common, because I have mentioned it to a few Docs since Jims diagnosis. However, like you my Jim suffers from a runny nose and especially at meal times. This has been happening for a few months now. He also suffers with respiratory problems and yes I feel the runny nose symptoms are all related to MND, but that is only my opinion. MND present in various ways, my husband has always had a weakness in his chest and the MND seems to be homing in on those muscles. Take Care Spring x

DaiTheDragon
24th November 2014, 20:33
I have Bulbar onset and have problems with my nose running quite a lot. There is no way of knowing when it happens.
I have just started using Rinatec nasal spray which was prescribed for me by my speech therapist.
David

GrannieAnnie
25th November 2014, 00:16