PDA

View Full Version : Work

BroxibeAr
28th January 2015, 13:06
I've had MND for 18 months now, in that time I have been able to attend work. However since the start of the year things have deteriorated such as mobility to an extent that I am a danger to myself.

When did others stop work?

Steve
28th January 2015, 13:13
I am lucky that my job was office based so I have been able to continue working from home. I can log into our server from my home PC. My company have been amazing in helping me, I am also lucky that the MND team here gave me the Eyegaze equipment.

I have been doing this since Nov 2013. If I didn't have this I would have had to stop work.

Jock
28th January 2015, 13:22
I worked nights in a Supermarket, so it was a physical job with me on my feet most of the shift. I worked with foot drop using a cane until last May. I had to stop as I needed a walker more to get around. I went on Company sick pay then SSP. I've been let go now and get PIP and ESA.

willsandco
28th January 2015, 13:26
Hello BroxibeAr. It would be lovely if you could work from home, like Steve, wouldn't it? The trouble with giving up is that you miss the social interaction sometimes. I was retired when I got diagnosed but I still have a website poetry business and I do that from home. It is a shame if you feel you cant continue! Can you speak to your employers? Love Joycie xx

BroxibeAr
28th January 2015, 13:28
Thanks, you've gave me an ideas, as my job is computer based.

Steve
28th January 2015, 13:47
Thanks, you've gave me an ideas, as my job is computer based.

I use Lync to msg collegues when i need a quick chat. It can be used for video conferencing as well so you could even take part in meetings. The amount of tech available is amazing, I am sure you know that better than me.