PDA

View Full Version : Slow degeration and PIP recieved - what mobility car?

Lynne K
24th January 2018, 19:34
I have been told that I have a slow degeneration type of MND, no further name given to it. I have just been awarded the higher rate of PIP so I'm searching for a suitable mobility car. I drive without problems. I'm a driving instructor but giving up after my last pupils test tomorrow. I am finding walking and ballancing very difficult so have fallen when getting out of my Fiesta when its in a tight space or on uneven ground. I think a vehicle that's seats sit higher up in relation to the ground would make it easier to get in and out. Does anybody have any suggestions? Also do I need to think of a vehicle that can fit a folded wheelchair to future proof it? Mobility car deals are for 3 years. I want to keep my independance for as long as possible. Any comments are welcomme. Thanks. Lynne

Lynne K
24th January 2018, 19:44
Please excuse. I posted my thread about a mobility car in the wrong forum :( Lynne

Annb
24th January 2018, 20:27
Wrong forum, or not, thought I would reply.

I have a Honda Jazz. It has the ability to fit a wheelchair easily in the boot because there is no lip to lift it over. Alternatively, the back seats folds up and a wheelchair can in the large space. that is freed up. The seats are in a good position and it drives well. The Jazz is very reliable and very reasonable to insure and run, I can recommend it without reservation.

Ann

Lynne K
24th January 2018, 20:40
Thanks Ann. It'll be on my 'go to see' list.

Lynne K
24th January 2018, 20:57
Thanks Ann. It'll be on my 'go to see' list.

Barry52
24th January 2018, 22:50
Hi Lynne,