PDA

View Full Version : Be Prepared !

Alanwig
31st October 2011, 12:48
There was a power failure at Jeff's hospice caused by an internal electrical problem, which left him gasping without his NIV and the RN's rushing to him to get his NIV hooked up to his portable battery.

Just made me think about the need for people in a similar situation and more particulalrly those being cared for at home to review what back-up facilties you have in case of a power cut, mains box tripping or fuse burning out.

Ensure your back up battery/ies are handy and fully charged and tell others where they are.

Know how long they will last and test this out, one of Jeff's batteries had a stated life of four hours it lasted just one hour.

Look at alternative power sources I'm no expert but I do know you can get portable diesel/petrol generators.

Look at having emergency oxgen on supply (this is now the case at the Hospice).

Have an emergency plan in place to get you to hospital or nearest clinic/GP for oxygen and agree this with those involved with your care, including both carers and professionals.

There were practical problems too, the lift was knocked out at the hospice making evacuation by stretcher difficult, the power failed in the day, at night it would have been that much more demanding in the dark, so maybe a torch handy for use would be a good idea and some light reflecting strips on the vital back up equipment.

Just a few thoughts I'm sure others with more experience of MND can add to this.

Take care all.

Alan

AKA Jeff's mate

Countyboy
31st October 2011, 14:26