• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nunhead_man
    Forum Member
    • Jul 2017

Possible diagnosis

I say "possible diagnosis" but the Kings neuro lot are sure enough to get my GP to put me on Riluzole.

I've been through the what I believe is the usual diagnosis hell as it only is my dominant hand and arm involved just now. It took over six months to dispense with carpel tunnel issues from that starting point with my GP and from when I lost the "pinch" movement in my thumb and forefinger.

I've been hunting for a diagnosis for about 2 years to date now.

Apparently I have some cognition loss but no one around me seems to think I've lost my marbles :-)

Seems this "syndrome" has lots of body starting points and a wide range of genetic starting points - some Mendelian heritable (not me here) , some weirdly partly expressed - bit like cat coat colour really

Anyone else started with this type of diability / malfunction?

And anyone on Riluzole and wants to share?

Best to all

Andy
    Warmly

Andy

​Diagnosed 03/2015. One sided limb onset (arm) sporadic PMA/MND - now 90% left arm and 90% right arm, plus other bits including both shoulders and also some breathing issues – Campaign contact Winchester and Southampton branch, and trustee of the Association

"Things turn out the best for people who make the best of the way things turn out"
  • Bern
    Forum Member
    • May 2017

Hi Andy,
    Welcome to the Forum where you will get lots of good advice. My weakness started very similarly to yours but it wasn't my dominant side which was lucky for me. My left leg is weak now and I can't walk far. Hopefully you will have lots of support put quickly into place.

Like lots of people I'm on Riluzole. I'm just starting my 3rd month of it and I've had blood tests every month because it can cause liver damage. To date, everything seems to be fine with it and it hasn't given me any side effects.

Mine is sporadic MND/ALS.