Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A failed carer

Forum Member

A failed carer

Hi

I'm new to this and pretty heartbroken.

My husband was diagnosed with MND 2 yrs ago February 2012, He was 35yrs old and I was 7 months pregnant with our second child, we had a 5yr old too. He wanted to fight so we have looked all over the world looking for a treatment and a cure. We have been together for 10yrs and we got married last year. He is on the best medicine we can find and buy but to no avail, but it gives hope and if I was him I'd want that hope.

His decline has been heartbreakingly rapid, he didn't want carers and I managed as long as I could on my own, I started asking for help in December 2012, I had a 7month old and he lost complete use of his arms, feeding 2 people was proving difficult. I ended up in hospital in February 2013 and within 24 hours we had carers in the house!!

I have had to keep working as he had no life insurance and we have bills to pay, I'm self employed so not working pays me nothing.....

At around the same time as coming out of hospital I found out my husband was doing on line gambling.....this addiction got worse.......by august 2012 he had accumulated debt of about 50,000 on credit cards and loans......he explained to me that it made him feel alive and normal, I did get that and he promised me he would stop gambling, I believed him.

By this time he was struggling to walk and speak, we had had a house conversion done so he slept downstairs, I didn't think he had the dexterity in his hands to gamble any more and in October 2013 they said he was in respiratory failure. I had carers in 3 times a day morning, dinner time and evening, his brothers did the minimum they could, one day a week each while I worked, and I did the rest with 2 children and working 40 hours a week, (most of which was done late at night and 4am starts) I wanted to look after him and strongly believed that we all needed to be together for as long as we could.