• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JimWright
    Forum Member
    • Aug 2018

Working and what happens next?

I guess this is aimed at the younger sufferers here. What happens nextvwith working, I’m a driving instructor and i have a driving assessment booked for February,never if I pass it I really can’t see myself driving / teaching much longer.
    Hears the questions, how long have people kept driving for safety with MND. I’m only 52 I’m guessing they will exspect me to just get a desk job, what’s the odds of going straight to medical retirement? Hope that made sence?
  • Terry
    Forum Member
    • May 2012

Hi Jim;

The driving assessment is quite easy and they normally give you a three year license after that.

How long depends on how long you are safe driving really.

It is between you and your employer about where next, there is quite a lot of help both legally and physically available if you want to stay employed.

Love Terry
    TB once said that "The forum is still the best source for friendship and information."

It will only remain so if new people post and keep us updated on things that work or don't work and tips.

Please post on old threads that are of use so that others see them and feel free to start new subjects and threads.

Comment

• JimWright
      Forum Member
      • Aug 2018

Thank you Terry,
      From what I’ve read it seems to be the standard “L” test and it’s booked at my local test centre, so everything is in my favour, will just hav to be a grown up about how safe I feel!
      The thing that concerns me is like all instructors I’m self employed, really don’t love the idea of going back to working for someone.

Comment

• Terry
        Forum Member
        • May 2012

Hi Jim;

It should not be a standard driving test and it should be a fairly relaxed drive around to gauge that you can drive safety.

Mind you, you should know most of the things that a lot of us have forgotten.