Shoes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shoes

Not sure where this topic belongs but let's start here. For those who still have the ability to walk, with or without assistance, what have you found to be the best footwear? Soft soles vs hard, athletic shoes vs conventional, slippers vs shoes with laces? I have PMA and find athletic shoes help me avoid traction issues and minimize "foot drop". I'm still fairly new to this whole thing and find the learning curve to be overwhelming sometimes.

Mick bought Skechers with velcro, better than laces

Comment

Hello Howard,

May I suggest your starting point is to get an AFO (Ankle Foot Orthotic) to minimise your foot drop and is worn inside your shoe. It will mitigate against the risk of tripping too. That will be a factor in determining the best type of shoe too - in general, sturdy lace-ups give the best support, but individuals vary and what suits one person may not suit you...

I know you're in the US, so do you have a PT who can assess you and recommend an AFO?

It's different this side of the world as we're assessed for foot drop and, if necessary, AFOs are provided (or should be, at least!!)

Love Ellie.
      ​Diagnosed 03/2007. Sporadic Definite ALS/MND Spinal (hand) Onset.
      Eye gaze user - No functional limbs - No speech - Feeding tube - Overnight NIV.

Comment

Hi Howard

My MND first manifested itself as (left) foot drop. This is now completely paralyzed and my left calf has significant muscle loss. It is slowly spreading upwards, but I can still walk short distances with the aid of a stick.

For the moment I can wear all my normal footwear, except, sadly, my walking boots.

Even before I was diagnosed, an OT gave me a marvelously simple but effective orthotic which fits any of my laced shoes. It’s the Orliman Boxia AB01

http://www.orliman.com/en/product/ca...t-ankle-brace/