Greetings from Cyprus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from Cyprus

Well I did it. As many of you may know I love travel but have been apprehensive of flying because of my inability to walk, as I am now permanently in a wheelchair, and consequently unable to use the loo on a plane.

My wife is Cypriot and I have been coming to Cyprus for 44 years. Lock down has been difficult for us all and my wife desperately needed some holiday. I can no longer do anything around the house so in addition to the extra things for her to do that I used to do, she has to look after me as well. We do manage to laugh about it even though it’s immensely challenging. She is a remarkable woman but with poor taste in menπŸ˜‚

Anyway we booked a wheelchair taxi to take us to Heathrow. Check in was smooth but I needed to take my electric wheelchair to the plane door and also a foldable walking frame to help me transfer to the airplane wheelchair and then to my seat for the 4 1/2 hour flight. A pee break before we got on the plane and then only half a tin of tonic water throughout the flight. Upon arrival in Cyprus quick use of the accessible loo followed by half a litre of water.

I had booked a wheelchair taxi to take us to Polis. We stayed at C&A Apartments run by Chris who has been in a wheelchair for well over 30 years from the age of 18. Every room is designed for people in a wheelchair, with large accessible Wetroom bathrooms. There is also a large swimming pool with a hoist to help people in and out. It is family run and so incredibly friendly, hopefully I shall be able to return. They also hire out all types of equipment you may need. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

We then moved to a hotel in Limassol, the town where my wife was born. Very nice hotel but not as accessible as C&A.

Whilst there we took an horrendous wheelchair taxi from the hotel to Curium. Unfortunately found and booked by me not the hotel.