Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shoulder pain

Hi all
    Want to start by saying thanks to anyone who reads.
    So I have been worrying about mnd for 10 months now because of muscle twitching, speech and more recently frozen shoulder.
    I saw a neurologist yesterday for a 2nd opinion, but forgot to mention my shoulder pain that has been going on about 10 weeks, I'm so annoyed that I forgot to mention it. My shoulder hurts when I move arm above my head or out to the side, and I'm thinking this is muscle weakness.
    The neurologist did all strength testing and looked at my arm muscles,would he have been able to pick anything up. I'm in such a state, I thought that after he said I was OK I would be relieved but I forgot to ask about this particular problem.
    How soon would I lose function in the shoulder, I can still use it and do everything, but I'm concerned it's early shoulder onset.
    Thanks

Hi Doodles

I believe we may have spoken on the telephone this morning. I am sorry that you still have concerns after our conversation.

As we discussed, your neurologist has confirmed that you do not have motor neurone disease (MND). The symptoms that you are experiencing with your shoulder would not suggest that the neurologist would change his opinion and I believe that you are currently waiting to hear back from your neurologist about your concerns with your shoulder.

Muscle weakness doesn't appear as pain. With MND, weakness is clinical weakness that can be measured upon examination by a clinician. Your neurologist carried out various tests and would have picked up on any clinical weakness.