Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Showering and hair washing

Hi, just after some advice.

My wonderful Mam is 76 and has bulbar. She is getting weaker by the day and is really struggling showering and told me today she dreads the shower each morning and can’t wash her hair properly. She has a shower over the bath. My brother is currently living with her as I work in a hospital. So we are thinking a shower seat or ? This is where I am stuck, she said today she doesn’t want a carer going in but then changed her mind and she does. any advice would be welcome, I feel so helpless. If it wasn’t for covid I could do it and I’m really distressed about it. Thanks, Lesley

1. hello Lesley. this is the first time using my eye gaze so if my spacing is chaos please forgive me.I started my journey as blubar onset and become scared to have running water on my face and to have the bathroom well vented. ive had a social worker and OT who organised a package of care.I have PA that have got to know me very well to enable me to showered. speak to your locoal adult social care team.

Comment

Hello Lesley. I care for my wife and went through the same issue. Our OT sorted a bath lift which worked wonders allowing Ann to keep bathing herself for about a year. In terms of hair washing you can get shower caps which you put in the microwave then place on your mums head and leave for a while to work their magic. Have a look on line at the complete care shop or talk to your OT.
      Eventually we converted the bathroom into a full wet room allowing me to shower Ann using a reclining shower chair.
      I would say discuss with your OT as they are best placed to advise.

Comment

Please don't freak out but I have noticed that one benefit of my nerves shutting down is that my sweat, what there is of it, just don't smell. So long as I sponge my private bits and check for obvious marks no one notices if I don't shower for a month! 😉😀x

Comment

Hi Lesley,