Dealing with Grief and Guilt, Part 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dealing with Grief and Guilt, Part 1

I thought I would write up the things I learned about dealing with grief and guilt in a short series of posts, in hopes it might help someone else process their feelings.

I lost of my best friend to Motor Neurone Disease in 2018, and it was the first time I had ever lost someone I was emotionally close to. I had made it all the way to my 50s, without experiencing overwhelming grief or heartache. I’ve never even been dumped by someone in a relationship before. The nearly two years since her passing has been intense, overwhelming at times, and also very educational.

My Back Story.

It will help if I explain, as briefly as I can, part of my backstory to put things into context.

In 2012 I was a successful IT consultant, had my own company, a nice car and all the trappings and debt that goes along with a respectable income. My best friend in all the world, Ezri, had not long broken up with her ex-wife, and she needed a new direction in life. She didn’t have a home or a job, so we decided to get a place together. I promised to support her in every way I could until she no longer needed my support, and was back on her feet again.

It’s important to understand that Ezri and I were very close. Most people that met us assumed we were a couple, but our relationship, in our eyes, was more like sisters. Suffice to say, that apart from my 2 adult children, Ezri was the most important person in my life.