Back to School…

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Back to School…

My daughter went back to school today, and begged me to take her. Tricky part is that I actually worked at her school, as a teacher. This is the first time I’m not at school on the first day, and I’ve been teaching for over 20 years. So I put my walker in the car and drove us, dragging my leg. It was emotionally draining and I feel so sad now. This disease is one loss after another. ☹️

Oh angie AngieCanuck that made me cry. Funny how that return to school in September can feel so sad because the holidays are over but to go back and not return with everyone else because of this ******* disease ... oh I cant think of the right words.

I'm just sending hugs and kisses.
    🤗🤗🤗😘🤗😘😘🤗
    when i can think of something profound i will update this.

Comment

AngieCanuck oh thats sad. But you should be proud that you made the huge effort.

Xx
      Diagnosed May 2021 bulbar onset als.

Comment

AngieCanuck well done you tho , takes great mental and physical strength 💪

Comment

AngieCanuck that really must have made your loss real, so sorry for the pain, be compassionate to yourself, but like others say, also congratulate yourself for facing up to it and going for your daughter’s sake. X
          Diagnosed July 2020, ALS bulbar onset. PEG and ventilator (mainly at night), and pretty poor speech, but legs still about functioning!

Comment

Well done AngieCanuck for taking your daughter to school. September always seems like an especially poignant month and I understand your heartbreak.

I was a primary teacher too and we lived directly opposite the school ( not sure if that's a good idea... trick or treat was very busy 🤣) I
            loved my job and the first year I watched the children going to school after I'd had to retire broke my heart..

Take care of yourself.. you deserve to feel proud xxx😘🤗

Comment