Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Posting

Hi Everyone

My name is Lucy and although I have taken some good advice from this forum, this is my first time posting.

My husband was diagnosed with ALS in March 2019 age 54, It has been devastating. I feel I have coped up until now but recently its been a real struggle. Its heart wrenching to watch his daily struggles, he was a hard worker who couldnt sit still but now he's a shadow of himself. He has no movement in his arms and his legs are now starting to go the same way. There's many things he can no longer do by himself and he finds it hard to sleep now as he can no longer turn himself in bed. This is such a cruel disease and its so hard watching him suffer. I always put a face on for him as I think he's got enough without worrying about me, but I see his posiitivity starting to go and I truly feel for him and anyone else living with MND.

Hi Lucy

Welcome! And thank you for posting.

I hope the great empathy and support you will find here is helpful.

You’re clearly supporting your husband marvellously but, understandably, at great cost to yourself. It’s a terrible position to be in. Somehow you must try to look after your own emotional health – difficult, I know.

Perhaps this hug will help…

Doug

Comment

Hi Doug

Thank you for the hug and your kind words. You all seem to be really supportive and wise on here. Im glad i posted even if it took me a while.

Lucy

Comment

Hi Lucy and a warm welcome to the Forum, though sorry you needed to join.

It must be utterly heartbreaking to watch your beloved soulmate deteriorate before your eyes - often we're so wrapped up in our progression, our abilities or lack of, our daily struggles etc, that we don't have the residual energy to acknowledge the toll it's taking on our loved ones.

Have you had the opportunity to do counselling? I found it very beneficial (and I wouldn't class myself as a bare all type of girl but it was so worthwhile)